How can I move content from one concept, or set, to another?

Note:

Only Course Creators and Editing Group Teachers have the ability to edit and add course content. To upgrade your editing permissions, you must contact your Local Administrator.

 

Odigia’s easy-to-use suite of editing tools provides instructors and content creators with the flexibility to simply add, edit, delete and modify content.

If you would like to move portions of content to another location within the course, follow the instructions below.

 

To add a portion of content from one existing concept to another:

1. Open two windows.

two_windows_1.JPG

2. In one window, have the concept that you want to move selected content to opened and in editing mode. In the other window, open the concept where the content you want to move is currently located (also in editing mode).

3. Highlight the content that you wish to move.

highlighted_text_1.JPG

4. Copy the selected content. You may do this by pressing the Ctrl + C buttons on PC devices (Command + C buttons on Mac devices). Or, you can right click your mouse and select "Copy" from the list of options that appears.

5. Now move over to the other window opened to the concept where you want to move the selected content.

6. Decide where you would like the selected content to go within the existing content, then move your cursor to that location and click.

7. Paste the selected content. You many do this by pressing the Ctrl + V buttons on PC devices (Command + V on Mac devices). Or, you can right click your mouse and select "Paste" from the list of options that appears. Your content should now appear in its new location.  

pasted_text_1.JPG

8. Go back to the first window opened to the concept where the content was originally located.

9. Be sure to delete the content from this concept after copying it to its new location.

deleted_text_1.JPG

10. Click "Save" on the bottom of the editing screen.

save_buttons_1.JPG

11. Return to the window opened to the concept where the selected content now lives.

12. Click "Save" on the bottom of the editing screen.

13. You may click the "View Content" button on the top of the screen to review how the changes look in the reading.

 

For moving an entire concept from one set to another:

Currently, moving a concept from one set to another must be done manually.

1. Open two windows.

2. In one window open the Course Outline of your course in editing mode.

3. In the other window, open the concept that you want to move.

course_outline_concept_window.JPG

4. In the window with the Course Outline opened, scroll down to the Set under which you want to move the selected concept to.

5. Click the "Add a New Concept to This Set" button.

add_a_new_concept.JPG

6. Enter the title of the concept and learning objectives, if available. Then click the "Create" button.

add_new_concept_window.JPG

7. You should now see the new concept under the set on the course outline.

8. Click on the pencil icon beside the concept to add content. You will be taken to the editing screen for that content.

new_concept_edit_view.JPG

9. Now go to the other window with the concept that you want moved opened.

10. This best way to copy an entire concept is by copying its HTML source code. On the editing toolbar in the Reading box select the source code (<>) icon. A new window with the concept's source code will open.

edit_tool_bar.JPG

source_code_full_highlighted.JPG

11. Highlight and select all of the source code.

12. Copy the code (Ctrl+C, or Command+C, or right click mouse and select "Copy")

13. Return to the window with the new concept you created.

14. On the editing toolbar in the Reading box select the source code (<>) icon. The window that opens should be empty, since there is not yet any content in this set.

source_code_box_empty.JPG

15. Paste the code (Ctrl+V, or Command+V, or right click mouse and select "Paste")

16. Once the code appears, click the "OK" button.

17. Your content should now appear in the Reading box.

both_windows_full.JPG

18. Click the "Save" button at the bottom of the screen.

19. Return to the Course Outline tab, and scroll down to the set and concept you just created. Be sure to click the "Live" button beside the new concept and that it turns green, so that the content will be visible to students.

new_set_live.JPG

20. Return to the window that has the original concept you moved.

21. Go to the Course Outline tab. Scroll down to the Set where the concept was originally located. Click the "X" button beside the concept. This will delete the original concept from its old location.

delete_old_concept.JPG

 

Note:

You cannot reorder individual concepts within a set. Any new concept that you add to a set will be added to the end of the set by default. The only way to currently change the order of concepts is by recreating concepts in the order that you want them to appear in the set, and then deleting the original concepts.


For more information on editing content, please refer to the support article, How do I add, edit, and arrange content in Odigia?.

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments